LGBTQ at NC State

This page offers an overview of LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer) narratives, history, and scholarship available at the NC State University Libraries and elsewhere.

Discover LGBTQ at NC State University

The NC State University Libraries Special Collections includes primary source documents on the history of the LGBTQ community at NC State.

• GLBTQ Community at NC State Timeline

• North Carolina State University, Student and Other Organizations, State Gay Community Records, 1981-1983: The records of the North Carolina State University State Gay Community, an early LGBTQ student group on campus.  Included are clippings, fliers for events and activities the club sponsored, resources on gay lifestyles and issues, an issue of the club's newsletter, and other general information about the club and its activities.

• North Carolina State University, Division of Student Affairs, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Records 1926-2012: Amidst this large archival collection on a variety of topics, boxes 25 and 26 contain folders titled "GLBT" and "GLBT Center" that contain information on the university's interaction with the LGBTQ community during the time period 1992-2011 and on the creation of the campus GLBT Center.

• Bisexuals, Gays, Lesbians, & Allies constitution, circa 1998 to 2007: Constitution and other organizational document from this LGBTQ student group

• Online Technician Archive, 1920-2005: Use the search box to search for instances of terms "gay," "lesbian," "transgender," etc.  The most relevant search results will date from 1970s-2000s.

 

Explore Identities and Narratives

Available through the NC State University Libraries

The following online collections can be accessed through your Libraries account.

• LGBTQ Thought and Culture: Online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
• Independent Voices: Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Click 'Series,' select 'LGBT' (on-campus use only). 
• LGBTQ studies in video: Cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.

Search the Libraries catalog for topics, titles, and authors. Certain books and media are housed at the GLBT Center.

Recommended Reading Lists

There is a wealth of literature, both fiction and non-fiction, related to LGBTQ experiences and issues. Follow these links for lists of recommended reading and award recipients. While some of the recommended titles are available through the Libraries, others can be requested through Tripsaver.

• Lambda Literary Award Recipients: Awards for best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books of the year since 1989.

• Stonewall Book Awards: Awards for LGBTQ books from the American Library Association.

• Gaylactic Spectrum Awards: Honors outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy and horror which include significant positive explorations of LGBTQ characters, themes, or issues.

• The Publishing Triangle Awards: Aims to further the publication of books and other materials written by LGBT authors or with LGBT themes.

• Rainbow Book List: Books for Children & teens.

• GLBT on Goodreads: Current and crowdsourced recommendations.

• Bisexual Books: Reading recommendations and reviews.

• National Sexual Violence Resource Center: 15 LGBT Resources.

• Lesbian & Gay Pulp Fiction: Collection available on-site at Duke Libraries.

 

Find Academic Research and Scholarship

Articles and Databases 

LGBTQ issues can inform research topics across all subject areas. Consider choosing research paper topics relating to these issues, and take advantage of the Libraries Databases to find prior research and discussion within different areas of scholarship.

Search tips

Terminology in LGBTQ communities and studies is fluid over time and adaptive to representing all identities and orientations. When searching for scholarly research related to these topics use keywords, truncation, and boolean operators.

Example Keywords:

LGBTQ, GLBT, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, trans, queer, genderqueer, aesexual, "same sex", "gender fluid", "queer theory"

Example of Truncation:

A search for lgbt* will include lgbt, lgbtq, and lgbtqa+. A search for trans* will include trans, transgender, and transsexual, as well as words like transition, translator, transistor, etc., so be careful.

Example Search:

If I were interested in research on transgender health care, I could use a search statement like this:

(transgender OR transsexual OR trans) AND ("medical care" OR "health care")

If I wanted to broaden that search, I could do so like this:

(transgender OR transsexual OR trans OR lgbt* OR glbt*) AND ("medical care" OR "health care")

If you need help or further suggestion, schedule a research consultation!

Selected Resources at the NC State University Libraries

• The gay rights movement, [1970-1983] [microform]: Gay Activists Alliance: from the International Gay Information Center, The New York Public Library.

• The gay rights movement [microform]: Mattachine Society of New York, INC.: from the International Gay Information Center, The New York Public Library .

• Lgbt, encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America.

• Gay and lesbian rights in the United States: a documentary history.

Connect with Campus and Community Centers

Local centers on NCSU campus and in Raleigh provide support and resources. 

• NC State GLBTQ Center

• LGBTQ Center of Raleigh