|
Home: Decennial Pop & Housing Censuses
Multi-year Resources
Reports by Decade
1790
1800
1810
1820
1830
1840
1850
1860
1870
1880
1890
1900
1910
1920
1930
1940
1950
1960
1970
1980
1990
2000
|
Decennial Population and Housing Censuses Guide
2000 Census Reports
- NCSU Libraries Guide to Census Data Resources - Provides links to online and other electronic data sources.
- US Census Bureau 2000 Documents as PDFs
Questionnaire, instructions, etc.
* Long form Questionnaire - from
Measuring America (Sept. 2002)
* Multiple
Questionnaire forms - from Census 2000 site
* Census
2000 Basics - from Census 2000 site;
from local archived copy
Internet Access
* The Census
2000 homepage has links to the American Factfinder, State &
County Quick Facts, Data Highlights, and more.
* Census data is also presented in four Summary files that may be queried
directly:
- Summary File
1 contains basic demographic information collected from all
households down to the block level from the short questionnaire.
- Summary File
2 has the same data found in SF1, but presents it for multiple
races or ethnic groups; it contains geographies to the Place and Census Tract
levels.
- Summary File
3 contains social, economic and housing data from the longer
questionnaire form, returns from a sample of approximately 19 million housing
units (about 1 in 6 households).
- Summary
File 4 contains the same data found in SF3, but presents it for
multiple races or ethnic groups; it contains geographies to the Place and
Census Tract levels.
Population and Housing Unit Counts (PHC-3), 52 parts in
54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/5:2000/pt. -
* GEOGRAPHIES: Nation, Regions, Divisions, State (by urban, rural
farm and rural non-farm residence), Counties, County subdivisions/Place,
Metropolitan Area, Urbanized Area/Urban Cluster
* CONTENTS: Table Finding
Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 39 tables for the United States summary
section, including
- Population, Housing Units, Area measurements, and
Density, 1790 to 2000
- Population by Urban and Rural and Size of place,
2000
- Land area by Urban and Rural and Size of place, 2000
- Population, Housing units, and Land area by Urban and
Rural and Size of Urban Area, 2000
- Population inside and outside Metropolitan area by Urban
and Rural, 2000
- Population, 1790 to 2000, United States, Region,
Division, State, Puerto Rico
- Housing Units, 1940 to 2000, United States, Region,
Division, State, Puerto Rico
- Decennial rates of change for Population (1790 to 2000)
and Housing Units (1940 to 2000)
- Population by Urban and Rural, earliest census to 2000,
United States, Region, Division
- Housing Units by Urban and Rural, 1940 to 2000, United
States, Region, Division
- Population and Housing Units, 1960 to 2000, State and
County
- County ranks by Population and Housing Units, 2000
- Rank of Places of 100,000+ by 2000 population, 1790 to
2000
- Number and Types of County Subdivisions, 2000
- Number and Types of Places, 2000
* Table Finding Guide -
States
* Contains 8 tables for each State:
- Population, earliest to 2000 and Housing Units, 1950 to
2000, State, urban/rural
- Population and Housing Units, 1960 to 2000, State, county
- Population, Housing Units, Land Area, Density, 2000; and
Percent Change, 1970 to 2000, State, County
- Population by Urban and Rural, 2000; and Population by
Urban, 1990, State, County
- Population and Housing Units, 1980 to 2000; and Area
Measurements and Density, 2000, State, County, County subdivision, place
- Population and Housing Units, 1980 to 2000; and Area
Measurements and Density, 2000, State, Place and County subdivision
- Rank by 2000 Population and Housing Units, 1990 to 2000,
State, Place 2,500+
- Population by Urban and Rural and Size of Place, 2000,
State, Size of Place
- Population, Housing Units, and Land Area by Urban and
Rural and Size of Urban Area, 2000, State, Urban/Rural, Size of urban area
(population)
Summary Population and Housing Characteristics (PHC-1),
53 parts
U.S. Documents C3.223/18:2000/pt. -
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State and Puerto Rico.
* Table Finding Guide - U.S.
Summary
* Table Finding Guide -
States
* Presents data in 24 tables for each state on:
- Age and Sex
- Race and Hispanic of Latino
- Population for Selected Categories of Race
- Households and Families
- Household Relationship and Group Quarters Population
- Housing Occupancy and Tenure
- Occupied Housing Units by Race and Hispanic or Latino
Origin of Householder
- Land Area and Population Density
* Presents the above data for Hispanic or Latino, and American
Indian and Alaska Natives
Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics (PHC-
2), 56 parts in 57 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/23:2000/pt. -
U.S. Documents C3.223/23-2:2000/pt. -
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, Puerto Rico, Guam,
Northern Mariana, and American Samoa.
* Table Finding Guide - U.S.
Summary
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Presents data in 68 tables for each state or territory on:
- Place of Birth, Residence in 1995, Language
- Education and Veteran Status
- Disability Status
- Employment Status and Journey to Work
- Work Status and Income in 1999
- Earnings in 1999 of Full-Time, Year-Round Workers, by
Sex
- Household Income in 1999
- Poverty Status in 1999
- Units in Structure
- Physical Housing Characteristics
- Fuels and Equipment Characteristics
- Owner and Renter Household Characteristics
- Home Value
- Selected Monthly Owner Costs
- Gross Rent
- Mortgage and Rental Cost Characteristics
* Presents the above data for Hispanic or Latino, and American
Indian and Alaska Natives
Librarian Contact Information
|