Home: Decennial Pop & Housing Censuses

Multi-year Resources

Reports by Decade
1790
1800
1810
1820
1830
1840
1850
1860
1870
1880
1890
1900
1910
1920
1930
1940
1950
1960
1970
1980
1990
2000

Decennial Population and Housing Censuses Guide

1960 Census Reports


NCSU Libraries Guide to Census Data Resources - Provides links to online and other electronic data sources.
US Census Bureau 1960 Documents as PDFs

Questionnaire, instructions, etc.
* Questionnaire description and Instructions to Enumerators - from Measuring America (Sept. 2002)
* Excerpts from Enumerator's Reference Manual - from 1960 Census of Population, v.1, pt. 1 (C3.223/9:1960/v. 1/pt. 1)

Census of Population: 1960, vol. 1, Characteristics of the Population, Part A, Number of Inhabitants
U.S. Documents C3.223/10:1960/v. 1/pt. A
* GEOGRAPHIES:   Regions, Divisions, States, Territories, Urbanized areas, Counties, Minor civil divisions, Census county divisions, Places, Standard metropolitan statistical areas (SMSAs), State economic areas, Tracts
* CONTENTS:   Contains 41 tables for national level data:
  -   Population at various geographies
  -   Ranks at various geographies
  -   Rates of population increase
* Contains 12 tables for each State and Territory on:
  -   Population, 1870 to 1960, for State, urban/rural
  -   Population, 1900 to 1960, for Groups of places by size
  -   Population, 1960, for places by size
  -   Population, earliest to 1960, for Incorporated places 10,000+
  -   Area and population, 1950 and 1960, for Counties, urban/rural
  -   Population, 1960, for Counties by Census county division
  -   Population, 1940 to 1960, Places 1,000+, incorporated and unincorporated
  -   Population, 1960, of areas annexed 1940-1960
  -   Population, 1950 and 1960, Urbanized areas
  -   Population, 1950 and 1960, SMSAs
  -   Population, 1960, of State and SMSAs by type of residence

Census of Population: 1960, vol. 1, Characteristics of the Population, Parts 1 - 54/57, in 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/9:1960/pt. -
* Consists of one volume containing national summary data, and one volume per state plus one for Outlying areas: Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Canal Zone
* Each volume is arranged in four sections: Number of inhabitants, General population characteristics, General social and economic characteristics, Detailed characteristics
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Presents data for each state or outlying area in 146 tables on:
  -   Color or Race
  -   Age
  -   Nativity or parentage, Place of birth, Country of origin of foreign born, Mother tongue of foreign born
  -   Residence in 1955, Year moved to present home
  -   School enrollment, Years of school completed
  -   Veterans
  -   Marital status, Married couples, Presence of spouse, Married more than once
  -   Household relationship, Group quarters
  -   Families; Primary, Secondary and Subfamilies
  -   Unrelated individuals, Primary individuals
  -   Fertility
  -   Employment status, Labor force status, Hours worked, Weeks worked in 1959, Year last worked
  -   Occupation, Industry, Class of worker
  -   Place of work, Transportation to work
  -   1959 Income of persons, families, unrelated individuals
  -   1959 Earnings of persons

Census of Population: 1960, vol. 2, Special Reports, in 30 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/10:1960/v. 2/pts. -
* Comprised of Series PC(2) reports:
  -   Nativity and parentage, Persons of Spanish Surname, Nonwhite population by race, Puerto Ricans in the U.S., Mother tongue
  -   State of birth, Mobility for States and State economic areas, Mobility for Metropolitan areas, Lifetime and recent migration
  -   Women by number of children ever born, Childspacing
  -   Families, Persons by family characteristics, Sources and structure of family income, Age at first marriage, Marital status
  -   School enrollment, Educational Attainment, Characteristics of Socioeconomic groups
  -   Employment Status and work experience, Journey to work, Labor reserve
  -   Occupational characteristics, Occupation by earnings and education, Occupation by industry, Characteristics of Teachers, Characteristics of Professional Workers
  -   Inmates of institutions, Income of the elderly population, Veterans

Census of Population: 1960, vol. 3, Selected Area Reports, in 5 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/10:1960/v. 3/pts. -
* Comprised of Series PC(3) reports:
  -   State economic areas
  -   Size of place
  -   Americans overseas
  -   Standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas
  -   Type of place

Census of Population and Housing: 1960, Census Tracts, in 180 reports
U.S. Documents C3.223/11:1960/pt. -
* Contains population and housing data for tracted cities
* Subject coverage is that described above for Population (vol. 1, pt. 1) and below for Housing (vol. 1)
* Tract maps are in pockets at the end of each report.

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 1, States and Small Areas, in 9 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.224/9:1960/v. 1/pts. -
* Pt. 1 contains data for the United States, Regions, Divisions, States, SMSAs, Urban/Rural, Places 100,000+, Places 50,000+
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Pts. 2-9 present data for States and for Puerto Rico, Guam, and Virgin Islands
* Table Finding Guide - States and Small Areas
* State data is given in a series of 39 tables covering:
  -   Inventory
  -   Occupancy characteristics
  -   Structural characteristics
  -   Condition and plumbing facilities
  -   Equipment and fuel
  -   Financial characteristics

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 2, Metropolitan Housing, in 7 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.224/9:1960/v. 2/pts. -
* Pt. 1 contains data for the United States and Divisions in 14 tables on:
  -   Value of owner-occupied units
  -   Gross rent of renter-occupied units
  -   1959 Income of families and renters
  -   Condition and plumbing facilities
  -   Number of rooms
  -   Units in structure
  -   Household composition
  -   Occupied units lacking specified facilities
  -   Duration of vacancy
  -   Rent asked for vacant units
  -   Value of owner-occupied units with nonwhite household heads
  -   Gross rent for units with nonwhite household heads
  -   1959 Income of families and renters, nonwhite household heads
  -   Condition and plumbing facilities in units with nonwhite household heads
* Pts. 2-7 present data for SMSAs and Places 100,000+
* Table Finding Guide - Metropolitan Housing
* SMSA data is given in a series of 10 tables
* Tables with nonwhite family data, reported for the nation and divisions, are not given for SMSAs

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 3, City Blocks, in 421 reports
U.S. Documents C3.224/5:1960/pts. -
* Covers cities with 50,000+ population, and some smaller localities which arranged for compilation of block statistics
* Data is in two tables for each place:
  -   Housing unit characteristics for the city
  -   Housing unit characteristics by blocks
* Data is reported on
  -   Condition and plumbing
  -   Tenure
  -   Color: white/black
  -   Persons per room
  -   Average number of rooms
  -   Value or Rent
* At NCSU, several reports were bound together in hardback volumes, with block maps grouped in a pocket at the back of each volume

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 4, Components of Inventory Change, 1950-1959, in 46 reports
U.S. Documents C3.224/6:1960/v. 4/pts. -
* Pt. 1A (in 18 reports), 1950-1959 Components
  -   Has a U.S. summary and reports for 17 SMSAs
* Pt. 1B (in 18 reports), 1957-1959 Inventory Characteristics
  -   Has a U.S. summary and reports for 17 SMSAs
* Pt. 2 (in 10 reports), 1957-1959 Components
  -   Has a U.S. summary and reports for 9 SMSAs

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 5, Residential Finance, in 2 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.224/7:1960/v. 5/pts. -
* Pt. 1, Homeowner Properties, has 8 tables on:
  -   Mortgaged and nonmortgaged properties
  -   Owners
  -   Mortgages for U.S., regions, and selected metropolitan areas
* Pt. 2, Rental and Vacant Properties, has 5 tables on:
  -   Mortgage status and holder
  -   Government insurance status
  -   Mortgage debt

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 6, Rural Housing
U.S. Documents C3.224/9:1960/v. 6
* Contains housing data for 121 economic subregions of the U.S., for rural-farm and rural-nonfarm housing units

Census of Housing: 1960, vol. 7, Housing of Senior Citizens
U.S. Documents C3.224/9:1960/v. 7
* Describes housing occupied by persons 60+ for U.S., States, and SMSAs

From the 1870 Census forward, the number of published volumes grew each decade.   A comprehensive list of all these volumes is beyond the scope of this guide that focuses on the volumes addressing population and housing topics.


Librarian Contact Information