|
Home: Decennial Pop & Housing Censuses
Multi-year Resources
Reports by Decade
1790
1800
1810
1820
1830
1840
1850
1860
1870
1880
1890
1900
1910
1920
1930
1940
1950
1960
1970
1980
1990
2000
|
Decennial Population and Housing Censuses Guide
1940 Census Reports
- NCSU Libraries Guide to Census Data Resources - Provides links to online and other electronic data sources.
- US Census Bureau 1940 Documents as PDFs
Questionnaire, instructions, and table headers
* Questionnaire description and Instructions to
Enumerators - from Measuring America (Sept. 2002)
* Population Schedule - from 1940 Census
of Population, vol. 3, pt. 1 (C3.940-5:P81/v.3,pt.1)
* Instructions to Enumerators for
Population - from 1940 Census of Housing, vol. 3, pt. 1
(C3.940-5:P81/v.3,pt.1)
* Form of Schedule for Enumeration of
Occupied Dwelling Units - from 1940 Census of Housing, vol. 2, pt. 1
(C3.940-5:H81/v.2,pt.1)
* Housing Instructions to Enumerators -
from 1940 Census of Housing, vol. 2, pt. 1 (C3.940-5:H81/v.2,pt.1)
Sixteenth Census of the United States: 1940, Population,
4 vols. in 17
U.S. Documents C3.940-5:P81/v.1-4
* GEOGRAPHIES: Nation, Divisions, States, Territories, Counties,
Townships or other Minor Civil Divisions; Urban/Rural; Incorporated Places,
Cities 5000+, Metropolitan Districts, Tracts
* CONTENTS: Vol. 1, Number of Inhabitants, has 19 tables in the
United States summary section.
* Most of vol. 1 contains data by state and territory in 8 tables:
- Population, 1790-1940, urban/rural
- Population, 1790-1940, for cities 10,000+
- Area and Population, 1890-1940, for counties,
urban/rural
- Population, 1920-1940, for minor civil divisions of
counties
- Population, 1930-1940, for incorporated places
- Population, 1940, for wards of cities 5,000+
- Population, 1930-1940, for metropolitan districts
- Population, 1940, for tracts of tracted cities
Vol. 2, Characteristics of the Population, is in 7 parts
* Part 1 includes a United States summary section
* Parts 2-7 contain, for each state, 52 tables with data for
- State
- Counties, Minor Civil Divisions, and Places less than
100,000
- Cities of 100,000 or more, and Metropolitan
Districts
* Topics of the tables include:
- Sex, Age, Race
- Nativity, Citizenship
- Country of Birth of Foreign-Born White
- School Attendance
- Years of School Completed
- Employment Status
- Class of Worker
- Major Occupation Group
- Industry Group
Vol. 3, The Labor Force, is in 5 parts, with 26 tables per state
* Part 1 contains United States summary statistics
* Parts 2-5 have State tables that cover these topics:
- Employment Status and Class of Worker
- Occupation
- Wage or Salary Income in 1939
- Industry
- Hours Worked During Week of March 24-30, 1940
- Months Worked in 1939
- Duration of Unemployment
Vol. 4, Characteristics by Age, is in 4 parts, with 25 tables per state
* Part 1 contains United States summary statistics
* Parts 2-4 have State and smaller geography tables that cover these
topics:
- Age, color, sex
- Citizenship
- Marital Status
- Household relationships
- School attendance
Sixteenth Census of the United States: 1940, Housing,
4 vols. in 13
U.S. Documents C3.940-5:H81/v.1-4
Vol. 1, Data for Small Areas, is in 2 parts
* Part 1 contains United States summary statistics for
- United States, Divisions, States, Urban/Rural
- Cities of 50,000+
- Metropolitan Districts
* Part 2 continues data for states and smaller geographies with 7 tables
per state:
- Housing characteristics, 1940, State, urban/rural
- Rent or Mortgage, 1940, Urban and rural nonfarm
- Lighting, water, toilet, 1940, Rural-farm
- Housing characteristics, 1940, Urban places and wards of
cities 10,000+
- Housing characteristics, 1940, Counties, by minor civil
division, and Incorporated places 1,000+
- Housing characteristics, 1940, Rural-farm, by minor civil
division
- Housing characteristics, 1940, Metropolitan districts, by
minor civil division
Vol. 2, General Characteristics, is in 5 parts
* Part 1 contains United States summary statistics at the same geographies
found in vol. 1, part 1
* Parts 2-5 contain data for states and smaller geographies with 29 tables
per state on these topics:
- Occupancy and Tenure Status
- Value of Home or Monthly Rent
- Size of Household and Race of head
- Type of Structure
- Exterior Material
- Year Built
- Conversion
- State of Repair
- Number of Rooms
- Housing Facilities and Equipment
- Mortgage Status
Vol. 3, Characteristics by Monthly Rent or Value, is in 3 parts
* Part 1 contains United States summary statistics at the same geographies
found in vol. 1, part 1
* Parts 2-3 have data for states with 11 tables on:
- Dwelling units
- Owner and Tenant-occupied dwelling units, urban and rural
non-farm
- Owner and Tenant-occupied dwelling units, rural farm
- Non-White Owner and Tenant-occupied dwelling units
(reported only in the South)
- Single family structures
- Converted structures, those needing major repair or
without private bath, vacant dwelling units for urban, rural non-farm, and
rural-farm
Vol. 4, Mortgages on Owner-occupied Nonfarm Homes, is in 3 parts
* Part 1 again contains United States summary statistics
* Parts 2-3 contain data for states with 10 tables each
- Three tables are for smaller geographies: county, tracts
or wards, metropolitan districts
Sixteenth Census of the United States: 1940, Territories and
Possessions, 12 vols.
* Final volume never issued (Cook's Dubester, p. 105)
* Twelve pamphlets published with these individual call numbers:
- Alaska: Population
U.S. Documents C3.940-13/2:Al1s
- American Samoa: Population, Agriculture
U.S. Documents C3.940-17:Am3
- Guam: Population, Agriculture
U.S. Documents C3.940-17:G93
- Hawaii: Population
U.S. Documents C3.940-13/2:H31
- Hawaii: Housing
U.S. Documents C3.940-32:H31
- Panama Canal Zone: Population
U.S. Documents C3.940-39:P19
- Puerto Rico: Population. Number of inhabitants
U.S. Documents C3.940-13:P96
- Puerto Rico: Characteristics of the Population
U.S. Documents C3.940-13/2:P96
- Puerto Rico: Occupations and other characteristics by age
U.S. Documents C3.940-37:P96
- Puerto Rico: Migration between municipalities
U.S. Documents C3.940-39:P96
- Puerto Rico: Housing
U.S. Documents C3.940-32:P96
- Virgin Islands: Population and Housing
U.S. Documents C3.940-38:V81/2
From the 1870 Census forward, the number of published volumes grew each
decade. A comprehensive list of all these volumes is beyond the scope
of this guide that focuses on the volumes addressing population and housing
topics.
Librarian Contact Information
|