|
Home: Decennial Pop & Housing Censuses
Multi-year Resources
Reports by Decade
1790
1800
1810
1820
1830
1840
1850
1860
1870
1880
1890
1900
1910
1920
1930
1940
1950
1960
1970
1980
1990
2000
|
Decennial Population and Housing Censuses Guide
1930 Census Reports
- NCSU Libraries Guide to Census Data Resources - Provides links to online and other electronic data sources.
- US Census Bureau 1930 Documents as PDFs
Questionnaire, instructions, and table headers
* Questionnaire description and Instructions to
Enumerators - from Measuring America (Sept. 2002)
* Form of Schedule for Enumeration of
Population - from 1930 Population Census, vol. 2, pt. 8
(C3.37/5:P81/v.2)
* Instructions to Enumerators - from 1930
Population Census, vol. 2, pt. 8 (C3.37/5:P81/v.2)
Fifteenth Census of the United States: 1930, Population,
6 vols. in 7
U.S. Documents C3.37/5:P81/v.1-6
* GEOGRAPHIES: Nation, Divisions, States, Territories, Counties,
Townships or other Minor Civil Divisions; Urban/Rural; Cities and other
Incorporated Places
* CONTENTS: Vol. 1, Number and Distribution of Inhabitants, has 16
tables in the U.S. summary section.
* Most of vol. 1 contains data by state in 6 tables:
- Population, 1790-1930, for state
- Population, 1790-1930, for principal cities
- Area and Population, 1890-1930, for counties
- Population, 1910-1930, for minor civil divisions of
counties
- Population, 1920-1930, for incorporated places
- Population, 1930, for wards of cities 5,000+
Vol. 2, General Report - Statistics by Subject, contains 14 chapters
on:
- Urban and Rural Population, Metropolitan Districes, and
Center of Population
- Color or Race, Nativity, and Parentage
- Sex Distribution
- State of Birth of the Native Population
- Country of Birth of the Foreign Born
- Country of Origin of the Foreign Born
- Mother Tongue of the Foreign-born White Population
- Citizenship of the Foreign Born
- Year of Immigration of the Foreign Born
- Age Distribution
- Marital Condition
- School Attendance
- Illiteracy
- Inability to Speak English
Vol. 3, Reports by States, Showing the Composition and Characteristics of
the Population for Counties, Cities, and Townships or Other Minor Civil
Divisions. 2 vols.
* Contains 31 summary and detailed United States tables
* 25 tables with State data
* 13 tables with data for Cities 100,000+
* 23 tables for each State, including data on:
- Population, 1890-1930, urban/rural
- Population, 1910-1930, by color, nativity, and sex
- Population, 1920-1930, for military age males
- School attendance, 1920-1930
- Illiteracy, 1920-1930
- Marital condition, 1920-1930
- Foreign white stock, 1920-1930
- Persons 10+ gainfully occupied, 1930
- Population, 1930, for counties and cities 10,000+ by age,
color, nativity, and sex
- Composition of population, 1930, for counties, farm/non-
farm, cities 10,000+ and incorporated places 2500-10,000
- Population, 1910-1930, of Indians, Chinese, and Japanese;
and Mexicans, 1930
- Population, 1930, by sex, color, age, etc., for minor
civil divisions, incorporated places, 1000-2,500, and cities, 50,000+, by
wards
Vol. 4, Occupations, by States
* contains 57 United States summary tables on:
- Sex and Occupation of Gainful Workers
- Color and Nativity of Gainful Workers
- Age of Gainful Workers
- Marital Condition of Gainfully Occupied Women
- Children in Gainful Occupation
- Statistics for Cities of 25,000 to 100,000
* 25 tables for individual states on the same six topics.
Vol. 5, General Report on Occupations, contains 7 chapters on:
- Enumeration and Classification of Occupations
- Sex and Occupation of Gainful Workers
- Color and Nativity of Gainful Workers
- Age of Gainful Workers
- Marital Condition of Gainfully Occupied Women
- Children in Gainful Occupation
- Gainful Workers by Industry and Occupation
Vol. 6, Families: Reports by States, giving statistics for Families,
Dwellings and Homes, by Counties, for Urban and Rural Areas, and for Urban
Places of 2,500 or More
* Contains summary and detailed tables for the United States, Divisions
and States, and Principal Cities
* Has, for each State, 24 tables including:
- Families by color and nativity of head
- Tenure of farm and nonfarm homes
- Families by tenure, by size, and median size
- Nonfarm homes by value, and median value
- Families classified by number of children, by gainful
workers, and by lodgers
- Quasi-family groups by type
- Families having radio sets
- Classification of families
- by county
- cities 10,000 to 100,000
- incorporated places 2,500 to
10,000
- wards of cities 100,000+
Fifteenth Census of the United States: 1930, Outlying Territories
and Possessions
U.S. Documents C3.37/5:T27
* Reports data for Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam,
American Samoa, and Panama Canal
* Contents, in 43 tables per territory:
- Number and Distribution of Inhabitants
- Composition and Characteristics of the Population
- Occupations
- Unemployment
- Agriculture
Fifteenth Census of the United States: 1930,
Unemployment, in 2 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.37/5:Un2/v.1-2
* Vol. 1 has 45 United States summary tables, and 13 tables per state
- Reports Unemployed persons in up to 7 classes
* Vol. 2, General Report, contains 5 chapters:
- Unemployment by occupation
- Unemployment by period of idleness
- Unemployment by marital condition
- Part-time employment
- Special census of unemployment, Jan. 1931
Abstract of the Fifteenth Census of the United
States
U.S. Documents C3.37/7:1930
* Summarizes data on:
- Population
- Occupations
- Families
- Unemployment
- Agriculture
- Irrigation and Drainage
- Manufactures
- Mines & Quarries
- Retail Distribution
- Wholesale Distribution
- Construction
- Hotels
- Outlying Territories and Possessions
From the 1870 Census forward, the number of published volumes grew each
decade. A comprehensive list of all these volumes is beyond the scope
of this guide that focuses on the volumes addressing population and housing
topics.
Librarian Contact Information
|