Food Composition and Nutrition Tables
Finding Journal Articles
Print Indexes and Abstracts
U.S. Government Information and U.S. Patents
Nutrition Information on the Internet
Internet Gateways and General Guides
Organizations and Nutrition Departments
Research Grants and Projects
Other Databases and Trade Catalogs
Full Text Resources
Nutrition: Print Indexes and Abstracts
Following is a list of print indexes and abstracts to the journal literature. They are especially useful for accessing the older scientific literature.
Please note that the NCSU Libraries will not have some of the journals indexed by these indexes and abstracts. To see if we have the journal you need, use the
NCSU Libraries catalog to search for the journal title (not the title of the article).
- Agricultural Index (continued by the Biological and Agricultural Index)
D. H. Hill Lib S1 .A1811 (8th floor Bookstack Tower)
Agricultural Index covers journal articles, as well as selected agricultural experiment station publications, selected
state Department of Agriculture publications, and U.S.D.A. publications from 1916-1964.
- Applied Science and Technology Index (1958-1995)
D. H. Hill Lib Ref T10.7 .A88 (older years in Bookstack Tower)
- Bibliography of Agriculture. Early volumes list author as U.S. Department of Agriculture, Library. Later volumes are listed
as "Data provided by National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture."
D. H. Hill Ref has Vol. 3, no. 1 (July 1943)-present. All volumes are shelved together.
D. H. Hill Ref A 17.18: v.3 (July 1943)- v.33 (Dec. 1969)
D. H. Hill Ref S1 .B515 v.34 (Jan. 1970)-present
Bibliography of Agriculture is an index to journals and selected agricultural experiment station and extension publications
owned by the National Agricultural Library. You may search for references by subject or author. Corresponds to the AGRICOLA electronic
- Biological Abstracts (1926-)
D. H. Hill Ref QH 301 .B37
Older years located on 7th floor for the Bookstack Tower.
The most comprehensive index and abstracts of research journal literature in the life sciences. BA indexes over 8,000 journals.
You can search by subject, by genus-species name, by biosystematic classification, or by author.
- Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) (1980-)
D. H. Hill Ref QH 301 .B37t (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1980-1999.)
Covers books, reviews, and meetings in the life sciences.
- Biological & Agricultural Index (1964-) (continues Agricultural Index)
D. H. Hill Ref S1 .A1811
- Chemoreception Abstracts (1973-)
D. H. Hill Lib QP455 .C48 (D. H. Hill has only 1973-1980)
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts (Feb. 1987-)
D. H. Hill Ref HD7260 .S339 (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1987-1997)
- Microbiology Abstracts. Section A, Industrial and Applied Microbiology (1972-)
D. H. Hill Lib QR1 .M55 (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1972- March 1998.)
- Microbiology Abstracts. Section B, Bacteriology (1972-)
D. H. Hill Lib QR1 .M553 (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1972- March 1998.)
- Microbiology Abstracts. Section C, Algology, Mycology, and Protozoology (1972-)
D. H. Hill Lib QK564 .M5 (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1972- March 1998.)
- Risk Abstracts (1984-)
D. H. Hill Reference Collection HD61 .R5 (older years in Bookstack Tower)
(Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1984-1997.)
- Science Citation Index (1945-)
D. H. Hill Ref. Q1 .S325 (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1945-March
Librarian Contact Information