Home: HISTORY

Articles

Books/Library Catalog/Union Catalog

Book Reviews

Early Newspapers

Early Magazines

Early Printed Books

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Encyclopedias/Reference Tools

Biography

Statistics

Maps and Atlases

Organizations

Writing and Citing Sources

Historiography and Bibliography

Need More Help?

History Research Guide

Statistics

United States

Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present (5 vols.)
Online or HA202 .H57 (Learning Commons)

This is a treasure trove of statistical data form the early days of the U.S. up to 2005. Broad topics include: Population; Work and welfare; Economic structure and performance; Economic sectors; and Government and international relations. The online version has the advantage of being able to download and graph tables, as well as create custom tables.

Historical Census Browser (UVA)
Presents decennial census data from 1790 to 1960. Enables the user to "examine state and county topics for individual census years" and "over time." Has a built-in basic ratio calculator.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Online or HA202 .A4 (Learning Commons); Older years in Gov Docs (2nd floor) at SuDoc # C3.134:[year]

Although also available online, this annual Census Bureau publication is easier to use in print. The most recent edition is available in the Learning Commons. Use the index to find the table numbers (not page numbers) relevant to your topic. While available nearly every year back to the late 1800s, content varies somewhat from year to year. This resource is not intended to provide time series data. Sources include public and private institutions; while always cited, sources may or may not make data publicaly available beyond what is provided in Statistical Abstract.

Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts (Census Bureau)
A miscellany of data first divided by geography type and then further sorted by years available. Files appear in a variety of formats including PDF, txt, html and xls. Mostly recent history (20th century and forward), but includes data back to 1790. Includes a link (at the top of the page) to digitized copies of Census publications for 1790 through 1890 and 1970 through 2000.


North Carolina

Log Into North Carolina (LINC)
Fulfilling the North Carolina State Data Center's mandate to coordinate statistical data produced by state agencies, this resource also provides North Carolina data from some federal agencies. Recent historical coverage back to the 1970s; also includes State Demographer's population projections for future years.


International

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2000
HA175 .M55 2003( Learning Commons)

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000
HA1107 .M5 2003 (Learning Commons)

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceana, 1750-2000
HA4675 .M552 2003 (Learning Commons)


Librarian Contact Information