Home: HISTORY

Articles

Books/Library Catalog/Union Catalog

Book Reviews

Early Newspapers

Early Magazines

Early Printed Books

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Encyclopedias/Reference Tools

Biography

Statistics

Maps and Atlases

Organizations

Writing and Citing Sources

Historiography and Bibliography

Need More Help?

History Research Guide

Early Magazines

Magazines can serve as useful primary sources for historical research. They reflect the time period in which they were created, and provide a glimpe into society at the time. Often, however, older periodicals are less readily available in libraries, and less thoroughly indexed than contemporary magazines. This section is designed to highlight resources that are available locally, and suggest search strageties for locating this type of publication.


Indexes to Early Magazines

Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage includes the years 1890 through 1982. (Check box that says Readers' Guide Retro before beginning to search.)

19th Century Masterfile
Combinationation of several indexes to printed materials primarily from the 19th century. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature.

Harpweek
Contains all the pages of Harper's weekly, the Civil War Era (1857-1865), Reconstruction I, II (1866-1877), and Gilded Age I, II, III, IV, V, & VI (1878-1912) as scanned images, together with a series of four indexes: subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising. Boolean operators may be used in searching the indexes. Full Text Search available from 1857 through 1912.


Librarian Contact Information