Home: HISTORY

Articles

Books/Library Catalog/Union Catalog

Book Reviews

Early Newspapers

Early Magazines

Early Printed Books

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Encyclopedias/Reference Tools

Biography

Statistics

Maps and Atlases

Organizations

Writing and Citing Sources

Historiography and Bibliography

Need More Help?

History Research Guide

Biography

Biographical sources provide information about the lives of individuals. There are many compilations of concise, scholarly information about the lives of people that have been studied by historians and other scholars. Most of these reference tools focus on a particular catagory of individual, for example, key people from a particular place, time, or field of study.

INDEX TO BIOGRAPHICAL COLLECTIONS

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index to a wide range of biographical reference books. Look here to find out which source includes biographical information on a particular individual.


BIOGRAPHICAL COLLECTIONS

American National Biography
Biographical information on more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Provides information on where papers are archived.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
D. H. Hill Ref. DA28 .O95 2004 (Shelved in the Special Collections Reading Room, DH Hill Library)
Scholarly biographical information on over 50,000 individuals who shaped Britain's past, starting from their earliest history. Includes information on Americans during the Colonial period. Provides information on where papers are archived.

New Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. Includes both biographical information and lists of primary and secondary resources

Dictionary of North Carolina Biography (6 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. CT252 .D5

The North Carolina Century: Tar Heels Who Made A Difference 1900-2000
D. H. Hill Ref. CT252 .N67 2002

Dictionary of World Biography
D. H. Hill Ref. CT104 .D54 1998


GENEALOGY INFORMATION

HeritageQuest
Access to the complete set of US Federal Census records from 1790-1930, plus other research materials for tracing family histories.

 


Librarian Contact Information