History Research Guide
- Much scholarly, historical research is published in
- The following indexes are particulary helpful when you want focus your searching on scholaly journals in the field of history.
- None of the indexes are completely comprehensive
for all historical research, so read the descriptions that describe the scope
before selecting an index to search.
History and Life
Coverage: 1964-present. Index to historical research covering the United States
and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Abstracts summarizing the
articles are included. Useful for finding out which history journals have articles
on your topic. Entries usually include abstracts. Book reviews included.
Coverage: 1969-present. Index to historical research focusing on regions outside
the U.S. and Canada, and covering the time period from 1450 to the present.
Provides access to journal articles as well as some other research formats.
Subject-Specific History Databases
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Annotated bibliography of scholarly works focusing on Latin America. Created
by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Coverage: 1975-present. International bibliography covering the history of science,
technology, and medicine. Covers pre-history to the present.
Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Index to scholarly inforation for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages
and Renaissance (400-1700).
of Asian Studies
Coverage: 1971-present. Bibiography of journal articles and other scholarly
materials in Asian studies published from 1991 to the present.
Victorian Database Online
Covers all aspects of British Victorian Studies between the years 1830 and 1914. Interdisciplinary in scope, it lists editions, books, dissertations, and articles published in more than 500 journals. Coverage years: 1945 to present.
Other Interesting Sources for Journal Articles in History
Coverage: Starts with earliest issues; ends about 5 years before present date.
Full text database that makes available journal issues electronically, back
to the earliest issues published. Includes only a small number of journals in
each subject area, but they are journals of high quality. Searching can include
not only terms from author/title, but also words from the full text of the article.
Web of Science
Multi-disciplinary database of academic journals. Includes three databases which
can be selected independently: Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities
Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. In most cases, the history research
falls in the Social Sciences or Arts and Humanities portions. Use the General
search to look for subjects that might span multiple disciplines. Use the Cited
Ref search to search to look up an article or book of interest, and find out
who later cited that particular work.
CRIS : The Combined retrospective index set to journals
in history, 1838-1974
D. H. Hill Ref. Z6205 .C18
Use this index if you are trying to locate older articles -- that is, articles
published prior to time periods covered in the electronic indexes.
Librarian Contact Information