Research Guides Home

Government Information Home

North Carolina State Documents

Federal Documents
Quick Start
Indexes & Databases
Laws & Regulations
Patents & Trademarks

Statistics
Census
Fedstats

DOE Infobridge

Other Links
Numeric Data
GIS
Maps

Contact Us

Strategies for Finding U.S. Documents by Date

The process of finding a U.S. government document works like this:

Your citation --> Getting a SuDoc classification number --> Checking the shelf.

The best tool to find a SuDoc number often depends on when the item was published.

Pre-1976
1976 - 1999
1999 - Present
----------------|--------------->
----------------|-------------->
-------------|-------------->

We recommend asking a librarian for help to locate items before 1999.

Date is pre-1976

  1. Use Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Public ... or Monthly Catalog to determine a sudoc number. 
  2. Check the documents shelves to see if we have a print copy.
  3. If the item's not there, ask a librarian for help because we may have it in another format.

Date is between 1976 and 1999: 

  1. Search the GPO Access, WorldCat, or the NCSU Libraries Catalog to get the sudoc number. We may still own the item even if you don't find it in the NCSU Libraries catalog.
  2. Check the documents shelves to see if we have a print copy.
  3. If the item's not there, ask a librarian for help because we may have it in another format.


Looking for information on a topic:

Many online and print indexes identify federal documents by topic.  Most of the print indexes are in Reference - U.S. Depository Collection in D. H. Hill, 2nd floor, Stacks.  Browsing in that area, you will discover some useful indexes.  The indexes below may be helpful, but there are many more listed on our Indexes & Databases web page.  Once you have identified appropriate resources, use the instructions above to see if the item is available at NCSU Libraries or ask for help. 

  • Library catalog:  You can search by topic keyword and limit your search to federal government documents.
  • Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1900 - 1971. Compiled by William W. Buchanan and Edna M. Kanely.
    Z 1223 .A183  Reference - U.S. Depository Collection, D. H. Hill, 2nd floor, Stacks
  • CIS Indexes:  This set of books indexes some of the print collection, as well as some retrospective microfiche collections.  There are several sets focusing on different types of information, from Congressional Hearings to Executive Branch documents.  You will find them all in Reference - U. S. Depository Collection, D. H. Hill, 2nd floor.  The call numbers begin with "KF" or "Z."

Contact

Get in-person assistance from a reference librarian in D. H. Hill Library.