Economics Research Guide
Scholarly Literature: Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc.
EconLit & Business Source Premier
- Both of these databases are available through EBSCOHost.
- Use them to find economics literature that has been published as journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
- Working papers are less formally published articles that used to quickly disseminate scholarly research results in the social sciences. Universities, research institutes, and other organizations publish hundreds of working paper series in economics, management, and other fields.
- Many working paper series are available in full text via the Internet.
- While most working paper series are available for free, some are accessible only through library subscriptions.
IDEAS and EconPapers via RePEc:
- Search through 100,000+ working papers.
- Papers in electronic format may be downloaded for free.
NBER Working Papers
- Full text search and access.
- Includes sources of historical data for secondary analysis.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
- Abstract and full text working papers on economics, management, and other social sciences.
Data & Statistics: Sources of Macroeconomic Indicators and Forecasts
- Country Intelligence for profiles, current analysis.
- Data-insight Web application launcher for data (historical and forecast).
Wharton's Research and Data Services (WRDS)
- Data delivery platform offering extensive financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, and banking data.
- e.g., CRSP, Computstat, Corporate Library, Trade & Quote (TAQ), etc.
Woods & Poole Data (CD-ROM)
- Extensive longitudinal demographic and ecnonomic data for U.S. counties, MSAs, states and regions.
Includes annual estimates and projections through 2040.
- Available in the GIS CD-ROM Cabinet at DH Hill Library, Learning Commons.
- Link to catalog record.
- Publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an inter-governmental organization.
- In addition to ebooks and reports (.PDFs), includes downloadable .csv files for numeric data.
- Online geographic information application for developing interactive thematic maps and reports.
- Offers demographic, business and market data at (U.S.) national to census block level geographies.
- Data holdings cover a range of social science areas including economics.
- See here for more info.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
- Developed by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- Provides scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases and documents.
- Includes national banking and economic data ranging from 1896-1955 Banking Statistics to 1948-2005 Economic Indicators.
Liber8, including the International Economic Statistics
- Also from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
- Includes links to recent research, current economic indicators and other useful resources including,
- IES (International Economic Statistics) Database - provides world-wide economic indicators from multiple sources
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) - Time-series data for download and visual analytics
- World Bank's International Economics Department
- Offers 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960+
- Covers 200 countries and 18 country groups
- Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, environmental indicators, etc.
- Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
- Sponsored by the American Economic Association
- Links to U.S. and international online economic resources.
Librarian Contact Information
- Jennifer Garrett, Research Librarian for Management, Education and Social Sciences