|
Home: DESIGN GUIDES
Finding Books
Finding Articles/Journals
Image and Digital Resources
Extremely Useful Library Tools and Specialized Resources Useful for Design
Where things are
Design Library Home
|
Advanced Searching in Design
This page is not intended to be a guide to any database in particular, but rather a description of the usual
search capabilities that are built into many databases. These capabilities may have
different names from one database to the next. If you have problems, you should look on the help
screens for the database you're using.
Advanced Searching in Keyword
You can use a single word in Keyword searching but it will most likely result in larger,
less focused
search results. For Keyword searching to be most useful in many databases,
you should combine several words or phrases linked together or combined with
AND, OR, or NOT. These are used
to specify the relationships among the keywords. Using AND, OR,
and NOT with Keyword searching will limit the number of results retrieved and
will allow you to control or focus the search results
to the specific information that you are looking for. There are also other types of searches you can do, such as
Within, Field Searching, and Truncation.
AND
Keyword Search Examples:
| Command |
Results |
| janson history of art |
Locates all records that have "Janson," "History,"
"Of," and "Art," in any order |
| janson "history of art" |
Locates all records that have "Janson"
and "History of Art" in them |
The catalog, and many other databases, still require
that you use AND. Some databases will not require this, and if you put in a few
terms, they will assume that you want AND inbetween all the terms.
Check the appropriate help screens in the database
to try to determine this, or try out a few searches to see what works.
In the catalog, the AND operator allows
you to search for records which have both search terms in them.
This will enable you to combine specific information with general information.
For example, if you are searching for H.W. Janson's textbook, History
of Art, you can combine author and title words, so your search will
be more focused and more precise.
Keyword Search Examples:
| Command |
Results |
| Janson AND History of Art |
Locates all records with BOTH "Janson" and "History
of Art" in them. |
OR
"OR" will locate each term or phrase and return every record
that contains any or all of the terms included in the search. This is most useful
for capturing similar terms or terms that have changed over time. For example,
the terms for what we now refer to as universal design or accessibility have
changed greatly over time, and if you wanted to try to access those older records,
you might want to try to combine those terms using or.
Keyword Search Example:
| Command |
Results |
| accessibility OR universal design OR handicapped |
Locates all records which have EITHER "accessibility" or "universal design" or "handicapped" in them. |
| sustainable design OR sustainability |
Locates all records which have EITHER "sustainable design" or "sustainability" in them. |
NOT
"NOT" allows you to exclude from your search any record
which has the term or phrase following "NOT". NOT can be
helpful in limiting your search to a topic which may contain common words used
in different contexts. For example, the words "architecture" or "design" can
be very general and may be used in many different contexts. It is important
to be aware, however, that you also risk excluding relevant items.
Keyword
Search Example:
| Command |
Results |
| architecture NOT computer |
Locates all records with the term "architecture" which don't have the term "computer" in them. |
W(ithin)
The W(ithin) operator is used to indicate that one term will follow
another within a given number of words. Word order is important when using this
operator, unlike the N(ear) operator. It requires the second term to
appear after the first term, and you should only use it if you a sure that the
second word should follow the first.
Keyword Search Example:
- Search 1: adventures of huckleberry finn
- Search 2: adventures W2 finn
The first search would take longer because it is searching for four
terms in the title rather than just for "adventures"
and "finn" as in the second search.
Nesting Search Terms
Nesting allows you to set priorities for how the searching operations
are done. When nesting is used, operations will be performed in the following
order:
- individual terms within parentheses
- proximity operators N(ear) or W(ithin)
- terms nested within parentheses
- AND
- NOT
- OR
Working from left to right, the program first searches the catalog for
the individual terms, stopping to combine any terms separated by a proximity
operator (N or W). The program then combines any of the
terms entered within parentheses. Finally, the program performs Boolean
operations, starting with all terms or phrases separated by the operators
AND, NOT, and finally OR.
Compare the two forms of searching; the first without nesting and the second with nesting.
Search 1:architecture NOT computer OR microprocessor
- Find all records with "architecture" in them.
- Go through that subset and weed out those records with "computer."
- Add all records with "microprocessor" in them to the first weeded subset.
Search 2: architecture NOT (computer OR microprocessor)
- Find all records with "architecture" in them.
- Weed out all those records with "architecture" which have EITHER the term "computer" or "microprocessor" in them.
Field Searching
You may search within specific fields in a record (for example, author or title)
by preceding your search word with a two-letter qualifier from the list below.
This kind of search is very useful for books with very common or generic titles
("History of Art," "History of Graphic Design").
| au |
author |
| ti |
title |
| pu |
publisher, publication year or place of publication |
| se |
series |
| nt |
notes |
| su |
subject heading |
| |
(remember that by using the su qualifier, you will be limiting your
search to the subject heading field, and will be excluding records that contain that word in the title or other fields) |
Keyword Search Examples:
| Command |
Results |
| TI graphic design AND AU meggs |
Locates all records with BOTH "graphic design" in the title field and "Meggs" in the author field. |
| SU sustainable development OR SU ecological engineering |
Locates all records which have EITHER "sustainable development" or "ecological engineering" in the subject field. |
| TI graphic design NOT AU meggs |
Locates all records with "graphic design" in the title field which DON'T have "Meggs" in the author field. |
Truncation
You may broaden your search by using the $ sign to truncate your
search term. This can be used to collect
versions of a word: child, children, childhood. Or, you can use ? to represent a single character
within a word.
Keyword Search Examples:
| Command |
Results |
| sustain$ |
Locates all records with the following terms in them:
|
|
|
SUSTAIN |
|
|
SUSTAINability
|
|
|
SUSTAINable
|
| SU wom?n |
Locates all records with either women or woman in the subject field. |
Exact Searching
Exact searching is not available in our catalog. I'm including it here because you may run across it in other databases. It is a much more specific way to search, and I would really recommend you use it only when you know exactly what book you are looking for.
Exact Title Searching
Leave off the initial article (A, The, An) and then type in the words of the title exactly as they occur
To search for a title you select "Title," and type in the title in the
box. Now, since the online catalog is a computer program, it has a few
quirks you need to be aware of. You should leave off the initial article.
In other words, leave off "THE", "AN", or "A" if they appear as
the first word of the title. However, you then must then type in the words of the
title exactly as they occur, and in the order in which they occur. So if THE, AN, or A appear anywhere
else in the title, you have to type them in.
Punctuation in any title may make it difficult to find the title in
the online catalog.
The catalog does not generally recognize punctuation.
So, if the books has a slash ("Lake/Flato," for example)
or a plus sign in the title ("A+U", for example) you may need to try typing them in several
different ways. Try your search with and without the punctuation.
If you can't find what you're looking for here are few tips:
Try typing only the first few words of a title.
Always keep in mind that the online catalog is a computer program: in a title search, you must spell everything
correctly, and you must have all the correct words in the correct order. If
you leave out an article in the middle of the title, or make a mistake
with one of the smaller words; 'for' instead of 'from' or whatever, you
may not find your book.
Check your spelling, especially names!
It's very easy to get one or two words wrong, and then not be able to find your book. And as always, if you're
sure it should be there but you can't find it, ask the library staff.
Exact Author Searching
You must put the last name first!
To search for an author, select "Author" from the drop-down menu in the lower search box.
Then type your author's name in the box. You must put the last name first , and then the first name and so on. Suppose you wanted to search for a
book by Philip Meggs. Type in :"Meggs, Philip," or even
"meggs, philip." You do not have to capitalize at all. You can also just
type in the last name, "meggs." The catalog will give you a list of authors
with the last name "meggs" and you can select the one you want. You may
need to go through several pages of results though if you have an author
with a common name.
-
Remember that this is a computer program; you must spell everything
exactly right or you will not find what you are looking for.
If you type in "meggs, phillip," with two "l"s in Philip, you may end up
not getting any results, because "phillip" would put you in the wrong place in the
list of results. The catalog will not direct you to the correct
spelling; it's up to you to figure that out. Always try just the last
name, or come to the desk and ask if the staff can help you out.
-
Also be aware that a book about an individual architect, artist, or designer
will often have his or her name listed as the author.
Exact Subject Searching
Subject searches search only the L.C. Subject Headings in the record. When you're looking at the
full record for any item, these are over on the right side of the page.
L.C. stands for 'Library of Congress', and that means that your search
must match the subject as it is listed in the Library of Congress Subject
Headings books. These are the five red books at the very end of the reference
section in Design; their call number is Z695.Z8 L524a. These list
all the subject headings that people use when they write records for the
catalog; they will not use any other subject words besides the ones in
the books. L.C. Subject searches work the same way as a title search,
but search the subject field of each record.
The easiest way to do a subject search is to do a keyword search first, then click on the title of a book that interests you, then, on the next page, click on
the subject heading that most fits what you're looking for.
Since subject headings are so particular and only use certain words,
the simplest way to do a subject search is to do a keyword search
first, and look through the records until you find a book that matches
what you are looking for. Then click on the title of the book, which
will take you to the full record. Once you get in the full record,
you'll see a box on the right side of the screen that says "Use subjects
to find similar titles:" with the subjects listed underneath it. You can
click on any of the subjects and the catalog will search for other
records that have that same subject.
If you are looking for a person as a subject, type in the last name first, just like in the author
search.
If you do decide to do a subject search directly, be sure to put last name first when you search for a person.
If you can't find anything under the subject you want, check
in the Library of Congress Subject Headings, try a keyword search, or ask
the Design Library staff for help.
Let us know if you have problems finding anything; it could be there's something you're overlooking, or something we can help with.
Librarian Contact Information
|